Skip to main content

3 New Books You May Have Missed

April 4, 2019

A serial killer novel, a memoir, and an Ottessa Moshfegh readalike.

As other reviewers have noted, this is like a mix of The Alienist and The Silence of the Lambs—with a little Babadook thrown in. With that description, how is this not getting more attention? Someone needs to buy these film rights ASAP.
 
Any review I write for this won't do it justice. The basic description—a college student from Appalachia gets a job giving fake violin performances—doesn’t begin to explain how beautifully the author covers the topics of growing up female, class in America, and the psychological effects of inauthenticity.  
 
Fans of My Year of Rest and Relaxation, try this addition to the millennial burnout canon.
Beth headshot thumbnail

Beth

Beth works in the Collection Development department.  She loves short stories, memoirs, documentary films, and cookbooks.  Her favorite things about working at the library are the Salon@615 series and the easy access to her library holds.